Today is setup day.

13Sep09

Yesterday, I flew back to Waterloo for the school term that starts tomorrow. I found all of my course outlines, discovering that I only have 2 final exams this term! I’m living in the same place as I did on my previous school term (winter), so unpacking didn’t take very long and that leaves me today to get Ruby installed on my Windows machine. Wish me luck!

Okay, InstantRails is up and running. Now it’s time to update my Rails to 2.2.2 and Gem to 1.3.x. Hopefully this only takes 10-15 minutes like the wiki page I’m looking at suggests. After running ‘gem update –system’, I now have RubyGems 1.3.5. Running ‘gem update rails’ should give me Rails 2.2.2.

I’m using a tutorial to set up Ruby/SVN bindings on Windows. I downloaded ‘svn-win32-1.6.5_rb.zip’ and ‘svn-win32-1.6.5.zip’ from http://subversion.tigris.org/servlets/ProjectDocumentList?folderID=8100 Oops, also need to install Subversion before I can expect this to work! Also, I need to put the files into the ruby folder for InstantRails, not necessarily in C:\ruby like the tutorial suggested.

Sweet! I now have Subversion and Rails both running and I have my project’s source code checked out!

No Responses Yet to “Today is setup day.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

